God is Not Deaf After All

2008 – San Lorenzo Ruiz Academy of Polomolok, Junior Year

My usual days as a junior in high school mostly comprised of excitement for extracurricular activities to happen and dreading Chemistry. This was also the year braces conquered my overlapping teeth.

I remember how bad I was at the subject that one of the most memorable memories of this year was me getting my one and only grade of 76 in my entire history of going to school. After the distribution of our report cards and upon seeing our grades, my best friends and I sat on the floor, outside the classroom, right along the corridor. Next thing I knew, we were bawling our hearts out for fear of getting serious reprimanding from our parents and from disappointment as well. Our grades were in ascending order. Jas (my ex-best friend) got 75, I, 76, and Zyra (my bff) got the highest at 77. Nonetheless, we were crying until we realized how ridiculous the three of us looked. Guess, we reaped what we sowed after all those times we slept in Ms. Kathy’s Chemistry class.

In case you’re wondering, things did get better for the three of us in Chemistry when finals approached. And while we were on the road to achieving this, I also became led to another path to betterment. You see, God actually heard me.

One morning before I went to school, I got a call from my grandmother, who was then a high school principal at Irineo L. Santiago National High School in General Santos City. Now, I’m not going to prolong the suspense any longer – she got hold of an exchange student scholarship and was in the process of faxing the Department of Education’s memorandum and the scholarship application form to our school principal. There were no words to describe how I felt that time. Having access to that application form already made me feel like I just won the lottery.

Of course, what happened next was that I applied. Oh and by the way, it took me a week to finish it because I knew there and then that every thing had to be perfect – from answers to every question to showing off leadership roles and achievements down to my handwriting. I even had my essay checked by our school publication’s adviser to make sure that I answered the question and I had no technical errors. All of it just had to be flawless.

After a few days, I was informed that I qualified for the division screening at the DepEd Division Office in Koronadal City. I remember being there with only one other applicant who had a stellar list of achievements and extracurricular activities on her form (yes, I peeked when she wasn’t looking). Mine only had a humble amount including the one I made up (I lied about having a role in the Red Cross Youth organization at school and I can’t even stand the sight of blood in the first place). The assigned coordinator praised both our applications as she endorsed us to the Division Superintendent. Man, I had a good feeling about my application mostly because the coordinator flattered me before asking me if I printed out my application because the penmanship was too nice to actually be hand-written.

The two of us, being the only applicants, obviously passed the screening process. Before the regional screening took place, the other student who applied apparently backed out because her parents suddenly didn’t permit her to, so I was on my own.

Next stop, Cotabato City (and more missed classes in Chemistry)!

1_330300416l

From the left: Zyra (bff), Jas (ex-bff), and me (brace-face). This is the three of us just trying to survive Chemistry.

Standard

Leave a Reply

